A# Blues

A sharp Blues scale for guitar.
The A# Blues scale is a six-note scale. In the fingerboard diagrams the notes in the scale are marked out with blue circles (root notes in darker color). The scale is displayed in a two-octave pattern and in the five main fingerboard positions.

2 octaves

A# blues scale diagram

Shape 1 (6th position)

A# blues scale shape diagram 6th pos

Shape 2 (8th position)

A# blues scale shape diagram 8th pos

Shape 3 (11th position)

A# blues scale shape diagram 11th pos

Shape 4 (1st position)

A# blues scale shape diagram 1st pos

Shape 5 (3rd position)

A# blues scale shape diagram 3rd pos
Notes: A# - C# - D# - E - F - G# Intervals: 3 - 2 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 2 Type: Hexatonic

The scale and its scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 A#
b3 C#
4 D#
b5 E
5 F
b7 G#

Compared to the corresponding Major scale, three notes are flatted, including the additional chromatic b5 note.

The notes in the scale can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole and a half, whole, half, half, whole and a half, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The A sharp Blues scale contains all the notes in the A# Pentatonic Minor plus a flatted fifth, the so-called blue note. Due to the close relationship to A#m Pentatonic, the scale is also referred to as A#m Pentatonic Blues or A# Minor Blues.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

A sharp Pentatonic Minor Blues scale first shape ascending.

A# Pentatonic Minor Blues scale tab

The numbers above the tablature are suggested fingerings.